When were the last elections in Spain?

How many elections did Spain have in 2019?

There were two general elections in Spain in 2019: 2019 Spanish general election may refer to: April 2019 Spanish general election, to elect the 13th Cortes Generales of the Kingdom of Spain. November 2019 Spanish general election, to elect the 14th Cortes Generales of the Kingdom of Spain.

Who won the election in Spain 2019?

On a turnout of 71.8%, the ruling PSOE of Prime Minister Pedro Sánchez won a victory—the first for the party in a nationwide election in eleven years—with 28.7% of the vote and 123 seats, an improvement of 38 seats over its previous mark which mostly came at the expense of left-wing Unidas Podemos.

How often Spain hold elections?

Elections to the unicameral parliaments of the autonomous communities of Spain are held every four years.

What was the result of the 1936 election in Spain?

Stanley Payne reports that, of the 9,864,763 votes cast, the Popular Front and its allies won 4,654,116 votes (47.2%), while the right and its allies won 4,503,505 votes (45.7%), however this was heavily divided between the right and the centre-right.

THIS IS EXCITING:  What is it called when a Mexican doesn't speak Spanish?

What is the name of Spain president?

Born in Madrid on 29 February 1972. Pedro Sánchez has been President of the Government of Spain since June 2018. He holds a Doctorate in Economics and is General Secretary of the Spanish Socialist Workers’ Party (Spanish acronym: PSOE), which he joined in 1993.

Who won the Italian election 2020?

The election was characterized by a very low turnout of only 9.52%, and saw the victory of the centre-left candidate Sandro Ruotolo with 48.5% of the votes.

Is Spain a kingdom?

Spain is a developed country, a secular parliamentary democracy and a constitutional monarchy, with King Felipe VI as head of state.


Kingdom of Spain Reino de España (Spanish) show 4 other names
Demonym(s) Spanish Spaniard
Government Unitary parliamentary constitutional monarchy
• Monarch Felipe VI

What government is in Spain?

Spain has a multi-party system at both the national and regional level. Nationally, there are five dominant political parties: Podemos (left-wing), PSOE (centre-left), Ciudadanos (centre-right), Partido Popular (centre-right to right-wing) and Vox (right-wing to far-right).

When was Spain’s first election?

The 1977 Spanish general election was held on Wednesday, 15 June 1977, to elect the Spanish Cortes of the Kingdom of Spain. All 350 seats in the Congress of Deputies were up for election, as well as all 207 seats in the Senate.

Does Spain have a king?

The Spanish monarchy is currently represented by King Felipe VI, Queen Letizia, and their daughters Leonor, Princess of Asturias, and Infanta Sofía.

Monarchy of Spain.

King of Spain
Website The Spanish Monarchy
THIS IS EXCITING:  Question: Do Spanish emergency services speak English?

Is Spain a federal state?

Spain is not a federation, but a decentralised unitary country.

Who won the 1933 Spanish elections?

It resulted in an overwhelming victory for the right, with the CEDA and the Radicals together winning 219 seats. Although the political situation was complicated, parties of the right won around 3,365,700 votes, parties of the centre 2,051,500 votes, and parties of the left 3,118,000 according to one estimate.

Who won the 1936 Spanish Civil War?

Spanish Civil War

Date 17 July 1936 – 1 April 1939 (2 years, 8 months, 2 weeks and 1 day)
Result Nationalist victory End of the Second Spanish Republic Establishment of the Spanish State under the rule of Francisco Franco Postwar Francoist mass killings and repression Spanish Maquis

What was CEDA in Spain?

‘Spanish Confederation of Autonomous Rights’, CEDA), was a Spanish political party in the Second Spanish Republic.